"One man, a forest of placards and the roar of the crowd... "

Alex Bradley:  All the demos I’ve ever been on II.
‘A demonstration of memory’ Manchester 1988-1999

HAZARD MMX: 17 July 2010
Peace Gardens, St. Peter's Square, Manchester

 



On the day the ambulance workers called for all workers to strike at noon in Manchester, I was outside the Town Hall as usual with me placard and me handful of papers and, as the first bell of twelve struck, they came teeming out of the building; more and more and more of them. Magical, like a muscle flexing at its newfoundness, I’ll always remember that.

This is the second development of a work which researches the nature of demonstration and how the form is personally shifting. This time the content will be driven by the memory of Manchester protestors. This work was initiated at the Anti festival, Finland 2009. For Hazard we have sound, placards AND buckets.